Music News: Carly Rae Jepsen Releases New Single ‘Making the Most of the Night’

Earlier today, Carly Rae Jepsen released “Making the Most of the Night,” the  latest–and possibly final–preview single from her third album, Emotion. Co-written by Sia Furler, the song has an understated chorus hook and, like the rest of the album, hearkens back to 80s synthpop and 90s dance-pop.

Emotion doesn’t seem to have the promotion behind it that would befit the followup to an album that had two massive hit singles. Only lead single “I Really Like You” made the Top 40 in the US, and even then only just barely. However, all of the songs that have been released so far have garnered massive critical acclaim, and “Making the Most of the Night” is no different.

Emotion was released in Japan last month and will be available in North America on August 21. In addition to Sia, the album sees Jepsen working with some of the best producers and songwriters in pop, including Shellback, Rechtshaid, Rami Yacoub, Greg Kurstin, Devonte Hynes of Blood Orange, and Rostam Batmanglij of Vampire Weekend. Check out the tracklist for the album below, along with the video for her stunning single “Come Away with Me.”


1. Come Away with Me
2. Emotion
3. I Really Like You
4. Gimmie Love
5. All That
6. Boy Problems
7. Making the Most of the Night
8. Your Type
9. Let’s Get Lost
10. LA Hallucinations
11. Warm Blood
12. When I Needed You



Exit mobile version